February 29, 2012

Today, Congressman Ted Poe (TX-02) and Congresswoman Janice Hahn (CA-36) hosted the inaugural event for the bipartisan Congressional Ports, Opportunity Renewal, Trade and Security (PORTS) Caucus. The mission of the PORTS Caucus is to promote the importance of our ports to the nationís economy and the need to secure them by promoting dialogue and coordination between Congress, the Administration and relevant federal agencies, as well as important industry officials. The caucus was formed last year by Rep. Poe and Rep. Hahn and currently includes 42 members representing 19 states and 2 territories. Todayís event featured a ìPorts 101î presentation made by guest speaker Kurt Nagle, President and CEO of the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA).

 ìI am pleased that our nationís ports finally have a voice in Congress,î said Poe. ìPorts are critical to both our national security and economic security. They are Americaís link to the rest of the world. Whether it is the food we eat, the car we drive, the light bulb used to light our homes or the clothing we wear, every American household is impacted by some activity at our ports. I look forward to working with Congresswoman Hahn and other members of the caucus to raise awareness and to educate others about the major issues important to ports in the United States. î

 ìThe PORTS Caucus is here to educate Members of Congress on the importance of our ports to our economy and national security.  Ports impact every Congressional District in the country, and itís time that we give them the recognition they deserve,î said Rep. Hahn.

 The bipartisan PORTS Caucus is composed of Members from all regions of the country, including Representatives: Janice Hahn (CA), Ted Poe (TX), Adam Smith (WA), Jesse Jackson Jr. (IL), Bennie Thompson (MS), Bob Filner (CA), Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL), Blake Farenthold (TX), Henry Waxman (CA), Charles Boustany (LA), Kathy Castor (FL), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX), George Miller (CA), Bill Cassidy (LA), Colleen Hanabusa (HI), Russ Carnahan (MO), Cedric Richmond (LA), Allen West (FL), Silvestre Reyes (TX), Bill Keating (MA), Hank Johnson (GA), Tim Scott (SC), John Barrow (GA), Steve Palazzo (MS), Albio Sires (NJ), Barbara Lee (CA), Stephen Lynch (MA), Mike McIntyre (NC), Bobby Scott (VA), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA), Pete Olson (TX), Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (NMI), Dennis Kucinich (OH), Marsha Blackburn (TN), Dennis Ross (FL), Madeline Bordallo (GU), Tim Bishop (NY), Candice Miller (MI), and Peter DeFazio (OR).


# # #