Congressional Victims Rights Caucus

Presents Annual Victim Advocate Awards

Congressmen Poe and Costa host event honoring Advocates

WASHINGTON, DC Congressman Ted Poe (TX-02), founder and co-chair of the Congressional Victims Rights Caucus and co-chair Congressman Jim Costa (CA-20) will host the 2nd Annual Awards Ceremony in Washington, DC. This years award winners include: Yvette Cade, Mark Lunsford, Anne Seymour, John Stein and Dr. Dean Kilpatrick.

These awards serve as an opportunity to honor these individuals who have devoted their lives to promoting rights for crime victims and working to prevent future victimization, said Poe. It is these individuals who have provided a voice for all crime victims across the country. We owe them our gratitude and our thanks.

WHEN: Wednesday, April 18, 2007

5:00 6:30pm EST

WHERE: Rayburn Office Building

Room B-338

Washington, DC

The Victims Rights Caucus is a bipartisan caucus which advocates and provides a voice for all victims of crime, as well as law enforcement, in Congress. The Caucus was established by Congressman Poe in 2005 and has 32 bipartisan Members.

2007 Award Recipients:

Yvette Cade will receive the Eva Murillo Unsung Hero Award. This award recognizes a crime victim/survivor who has taken a personal tragedy to triumph over adversity. The recipient is a person who has utilized his or her experiences as a crime victim to promote public education and awareness, public policy development, and/or a greater awareness about crime victims rights and needs. Ms. Cade was brutally attacked and burned by her ex-husband after a Maryland judge dropped the protective order against him.

Mark Lunsford, father of Jessica Lunsford, will receive the Public Awareness Award. This award is presented to an individual or organization that has used their voice, throughout the media, to promote and bring about change at the National level for crime victims.

Anne Seymour of Justice Solutions will receive the Ed Stout Memorial Award. The recipient of this award is a professional or volunteer whose efforts directly benefit victims and survivors of crime, particularly in the areas of program development, public or agency policy development, community and public awareness, and collaboration among community and justice-based organizations who serve victims.

John Stein, Deputy Director of National Organization of Victim Assistance and 30-year advocate for crime victims, will be awarded the Lois Haight Award recognizing a professional whose efforts have had a significant impact on local, state, national, or international public policy development and implementation, which promotes dignity, respect, rights, and services for victims of crime.

Dr. Dean Kilpatrick, Director of the National Crime Victim Research and Treatment Center, will be honored with the Allied Profession Award. This award recognizes the efforts of individuals, organizations, and/or coalitions which directly benefit victims of crime, but who are not direct victim service providers.