WASHINGTON, April 26 -

Mr. Speaker, this week, the Texas Association Against Sexual Assault (TAASA) received the Ronald Wilson Reagan Public Policy Award as part of the Department of Justice's National Crime Victims' Service Awards.

Since its founding in 1982, TAASA's work has changed the lives of sexual assault survivors in Texas and throughout our great country.

TAASA serves as a powerful voice for the Texas sexual assault movement.

Their work in prevention, training, and advocacy is unparalleled.

TAASA has successfully advocated for legislation to protect and serve victims of sexual assault on the federal and state level.

Like true Texans, they fight hard and do not back down when they know something is right.

Most recently, TAASA played a critical role in the passage of the bipartisan SAFER Act, which I introduced to help reduce the rape kit backlog, bring justice to victims of sexual assault and put perpetrators behind bars where they belong.

As co-founder and co-chair of the Congressional Victims' Rights Caucus, it is reassuring that there is such an effective group advocating on behalf of victims. And, of course I'm proud that they're from the great State of Texas.

I congratulate TAASA on their award and commend their important work. And that's just the way it is.