Madam Speaker, during the 1970's and 80s the Lamar University Cardinals dominated Southland Conference basketball, at one point putting together 80 straight home wins, which is still the 7th longest home winning streak in NCAA history.

Lamar men's basketball continued this winning tradition with an outstanding 2007-2008 season. Led by first team all-conference performers Kenny Dawkins and Lamar Sanders, and All-Conference Honorable mention Darren Hopkins, Lamar Men's Basketball team and their coach Steve Roccaforte posted a 19-11 record. Earning its 12th conference title and first since the 1982-83 season. Coach Roccaforte guided the Cardinals to the title in only his second year at the helm, which ties him with legendary Lamar coach Billy Tubbs as fastest to conference championship in school history.

The effort and resilience shown by the Lamar Men's Basketball team and staff has been nothing short of tremendous. In a season that did not start as planned, the Cardinals never gave in. Lamar started the season with a disappointing 1-5 record; however, the self-confident Cardinals turned their season around. Coach Roccaforte said the turningpoint in their season was a narrow two point loss to Big 12 conference power Texas Tech. With renewed confidence the Cardinals went on a tear winning 13 out of their next 14 games, propelling them to the regular season conference title.

On behalf of the entire Second Congressional District of Texas I would like to commend Lamar University Men's Basketball team hard fought season and congratulate them on a well deserved Conference Title.

And that's just the way it is.